Written by Staff Writer
Henrik Stenson and Jordan Spieth were the latest golfers to be penalized for infringement at the Players Championship on Thursday.
The European Ryder Cup stars, playing in the same group, both took a drop but from an incorrect position on the seventh hole.
On both occasions, the club was struck by the clubhead at the wrong place and the ball rolled from the spot where it should have been to the third hole.
Both players were assessed two shots.
In a statement, the PGA Tour said: “The penalty was assessed by rules official Nathan Whitaker of the USGA’s Golf Operations staff.
“Both Stenson and Spieth made their drop in front of the green from the same spot but from opposite tees, thus compromising the distance from where the ball originated, which triggered the penalties.”
Earlier this year, world number one Dustin Johnson was docked two shots in his opening round of the Arnold Palmer Invitational after he took a drop from a water hazard.
But the fairway views by television commentators suggest Spieth and Stenson hit their drives differently which meant the ball moved after hitting the ground.
The knock-on effect would have meant Stenson, if the ball had moved, and Spieth would have been assessed a double penalty.
Golfing great Jack Nicklaus, who also held the world number one spot at the time, has advised players to do their research before hitting their golf shots.
“Find the correct spot and take the drop,” he told www.dailymail.co.uk in January.
“For most players, it’s a pain and it’s time-consuming but it’s important and it pays off in the long run if you do your homework.”